The Under-16 Representative Team were unable to conclude a challenging season by winning the South-East England Schools’ FA Championship after suffering defeat in the LC Hill Trophy Final.

Having finished at the top of the Group 1 Table by virtue of victories over Sussex (3-2), Inner London (3-0), Surrey (3-2) and Buckinghamshire (4-3), Middlesex then defeated Group 2 runners-up Hertfordshire 5-2 at Ashford Town (Middlesex) FC to secure their place in the Final against old rivals Kent, who had enjoyed a 4-3 victory over Middlesex during the League phase of competition.

In the decider at the Watford FC Training Ground, both teams started well and there was nothing to separate the sides in the first twenty minutes. If anything, Middlesex had the slight edge in possession, yet it was Kent who took the lead through Middlesex defenders not picking players up, which led to the goalkeeper coming out to try and cover, leaving the goal open.


Manager Keith Young said: “It was very disappointing to concede a goal like this, a lack of communication cost us dearly. A similar thing happened with Kent’s second goal.”

Middlesex continued to play very good football at times and created a number of chances but did not take enough opportunities to shoot. The more clinical Kent team were not so hesitant and went on to win 4-1. The loss of three key players who would have started the match also did not help the cause but also should not detract from Kent’s achievement and our congratulations go to them.

Manager Keith Young commented: “My assistant William Wright and I are are very proud of the boys. They deserved to be in the Final because of their performance this season. They have beaten some very good teams.”

Squad: Adam Bullock (Highlands), George McIntyre (East Barnet School),George Njoku (Salvatorian College), Harlain Mbayo (Christ College Finchley), Mikkel Ndjoli (Frien Barnet), Nyv Bogaire (JFS), Kevin  Holden (Preston Manor), Anthony Mozie (Whitmore High), Sinn’Kaye Christie (Barnhill Community High),Tyler-Tuey Crosbie (Salavatorian College), Assef  Rahman (Christ College), Frankie Keita (Capital City), Gianni  Crichlow (Preston  Manor), Montasir Elnaeem (The Heathlands School), Remi Gyimah (Wren Academy), Mikkel James (Preston Manor), Ash Hameed (Crest Boys Academy), Ramayne Pennant (Claremont High), Courtney Austin (Capital City)