Middlesex Schools' FAThe Middlesex Schools’ FA was founded in 1932 and exists to manage and develop football within education establishments in the boroughs of Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Hillingdon and Hounslow.

Prior to the formation of the Association as a standalone body, the Middlesex County FA ran a Schools Championship Cup, which was (to quote the MCFA Handbooks of the time) “competed for annually by two schools from each Schools’ League or Association affiliated to this association”.

The list of known winners of this competition is as follows:

1909-10                Harvist Road School
1910-11                Hayes Council School
1911-12                Featherstone Road School
1912-13                City Police Orphanage School
1913-14                Teddington Council School
1914-15                St Mary’s (North Hyde) School
1915-19                The War
1919-20                Featherstone Road School
1920-21                St Mary’s, North Hyde School
1921-22                Latymer Foundation School
1922-23                George Spicer Central School
1923-24                Featherstone Road School
1924-25                Yiewsley School
1925-26                City Police Orphanage
1926-27                City Police Orphanage
1927-28                Sunbury Council School
1928-29                Chiswick Central School
1929-30                Northfields

From 1932-33, the Middlesex Schools’ FA has organised competitive football within the education sector and has gradually expanded its portfolio of competitions over the years. At present, these include fifteen Inter-School Competitions from Primary right through to Under-18 age groups. In addition, there are several Inter-District Competitions for teams representing their boroughs to compete against each other in League competition. In addition, the Association fields Representative Teams, representing the best of Schools’ football in the County, in regional and national tournaments.

There is a common misconception that Middlesex “doesn’t exist”, which is driven largely by the fact that the Middlesex County Council, which was created in 1889, was abolished in 1965. The eight boroughs which make up the current Middlesex Schools’ FA are those which were transferred from Middlesex County Council to the Greater London Council, which was itself later abolished and whose modern equivalent is the Greater London Authority. Middlesex County Council also administered districts which became the modern boroughs of Hertsmere (now part of Hertfordshire for administrative purposes) and Spelthorne (which is now administered by Surrey County Council). Club football in these boroughs is administered by the Middlesex County FA but the area governed by the Middlesex Schools’ FA mirrors the wider administration of education generally.

The ancient County of Middlesex was larger still and originally included much of modern London and this is reflected in the fact that previous winners of the Inter-District competitions include East London and Hackney.

The map below shows the ‘historic’ County Boundaries with three areas shaded in to reflect that these are no longer within the catchment area of Middlesex Schools’ FA:

The Association works closely with and receives administrative support from the Middlesex County FA, but the majority of the Association’s Committee are current or former schoolteachers, reflecting the body’s roots in education.